Log in

Webster Jee Young Investigator Award

The Webster Jee Young Investigator Award is presented to individuals who submitted excellent abstracts to ASBMR or ORS annual meetings, or the International Conference on Osteoporosis and Bone Research (ICOBR). Webster S. S. Jee, Ph.D. was born June 25,1925 in Oakland, California. He received his baccalaureate degree (1949) and M.A. (1951) in Zoology from the University of California, Berkeley. Between 1943 and 1946, he served as a Navigator on B-17 in the U.S. Army Air Corps in World War II. He is Professor Emeritus of Neurobiology & Anatomy at the University of Utah, and an Honorary Professor and Honorary Director of Bone Biology Laboratory, Guangdong Medical College, China. Dr. Jee was the Founder and Chairman of the Sun Valley International Hard Tissue Workshops, and a co-editor-in-chief, Journal of Musculoskeletal and Neuronal Interactions. He is also a recipient of a number of awards including the Highest Achievement Award in Bone Morphometry, ASBMR Excellence in Mentorship Award, and University of Utah Merit of Honor Award. Most importantly, Dr. Jee is the Founder of the ICMRS (former ICHTS) and the ICOBR.

To recognize the achievement of young outstanding ICMRS members, three Webster Jee Young Investigator Awards will be given at the ASBMR and ORS meetings, and 20 for the ICOBR. The winners will be announced during the membership meeting and each awardee will receive an award certificate/plaque and a check. All applicants are asked to attend the meeting because the award will only be given to the recipients who attend. Applicants may find details about the ICMRS and Membership Meeting on the ICMRS website: http://www.icmrs.net.


1) Current ICMRS member (You can join us here )

2) First author of accepted ORS or ASBMR abstract for annual meeting

3) Current graduate and/or medical student; Post-doc or equivalent; Junior faculty and professionals who received PhD or MD in less than 5 years

4) Has not received the award previously

5) Applicants are not required to be of the Chinese heritage


The accepted abstract in both blind and un-blind formats should be submitted to the following e-mail address: icmrs@icmrs.net. All submitted abstracts will be peer reviewed in blind by a review panel appointed by the ICMRS Program Committee. The top scored abstracts will be selected as the winners. As a general rule, no more than one award will be given to the applicants from the same research laboratory/group.

Webster Jee Award Recipients


Yuantao Zhang, Chinese University of Hong Kong

Mingyue Fan, Drexel University

Jiawei Lu, University of Pennsylvania

Yiyang Ma, Shanghai Sixth People's Hospital Affiliated to Shanghai Jiao Tong University of Medicine

Donghao Gan, Southern University of Science and Technology

Bryan Kwok, Drexel University


Peng Liao, Shanghai Jiao Tong University Affiliated Shanghai Sixth People’s Hospital;

Mingjue Chen, Southern University of Science and Technology;

Delin Liu, The University of Western Australia;

Jun Sun, Weill Cornell Medicine;

Baohong Shi, The First Affiliated Hospital of Xiamen University.


Mengtian Fan, Chongqing Medical University;

Tao Gui, University of Pennsylvania;

Xi Lin, University of Rochester Medical Center.


Xiaohao Wu, Southern University of Science and Technology

Yuhan Xia, Cornell Medical College and Hospital for Special Surgery

Gongsheng Yuan, University of Pennsylvania

Zhongyang Lv, Nanjing University

Xiaoan Wei, Zhejiang University

Zeyu Zheng, Zhejiang University


Zheng Wang, Texas A&M College of Dentistry

Wei Yu, University of Pennsylvania

Rui Hua, University of Texas Health San Antonio

Lingxin Zhu, University of Michigan


Shuangfei Ni, Johns Hopkins University

Lutian Yao, University of Pennsylvania

Elizabeth R. Kahle, Drexel University


Xiangjiao Yi, University of Rochester

Jun Ying, Washington University

Jiayu Wei, Zhejiang University and Brown University


Yulong Wei, University of Pennsylvania

Jiahui Huang, Brown University and Rhode Island Hospital

Wenguang Liu, Xi’an Jiaotong University


Yunshu Wu, Sichuan University

Kazuki Inoue, Hospital for Special Surgery

Yujiao Han, Shanghai Institute of Biochemistry and Cell Biology

Robert Tower, University of Pennsylvania


Mengxi Lv, University of Delaware

Luqiang Wang, University of Pennsylvania

Aubryanna Hettinghouse, New York University Medical Center


Ren Xu, Cornell University

Jun Li, Rush University

Wei-Ju Tseng, University of Pennsylvania


Chao Liang, Hong Kong Baptist University

Qing Li, Drexel University

Yun Gao, Alpert Medical School of Brown University


Wanqing Xie, Rush University

Min Jin, Texas A&M Balor College of Dentistry

Yanzhi Liu, University of Nebraska Medical Center and Guangdong Medical University


Shao-wei Wang, Brown University

Huan-xiong Chen, Chinese University of Hong Kong

Wei Tong, University of Pennsylvania


Tianqian Hui, Rush University Medical Center

Haoruo Jia, University of Pennsylvania

Changjun Li, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine


Chao Liang, HK Baptist University

Hongchuan Yu, Brown University

Hao Xu, University of Rochester


Shan Li, Rush University Medical Center

Tiao Lin, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

Xin Xu, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine


Chandal de Bakker, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

Michael Chen, University of Washington

Yan Jing, Baylor College of Dentistry in Texas A&M


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software